Quilt Square #39
1464 McBrayer Rd.
Geocode (latitude and longitude): 38.154138 -83.4502966
1464 McBrayer Road
Owner: Joanne Robinson DeHart and
Brenda DeHart Stamm
by: Foothills Quilt Trail Painting Team
by: Charley Stamm, Walt Rybka, and
April 12, 2008
W. Paul & Lucille Caudill Little Foundation, Inc.
Notes:Brenda Stamm submitted the application for a quilt block for her barn
knowing exactly the pattern she wanted. She
chose a block from a quilt she owned. Brenda’s
Great Grandmother Mary Lou “Mammie” Jones made the original quilt in her
favorite pattern the Dutch Girl from scraps of cotton fabric used in family
clothing. She passed it on to her daughter Beatrice Jones Robinson
(Brenda’s grandmother). Beatrice,
being an avid doll collector, changed the name of the quilt to “Dutch Doll.”
Brenda’s Grandmother Beatrice gave the quilt to her.
Since she received a quilt block on her barn, Brenda affectionately calls
it “Mamaw’s Dutch Doll.” The
quilt hangs on the end of the barn where it can be seen from both Brenda and her
Grandmother Beatrice’s front porches. Brenda
tells visitors who stop by to take a closer look that her Mamaw Beatrice is
sitting up there in Heaven smiling down on her block.
The barn sits on a farm once owned by her grandparents Chester and
Beatrice Robinson. Beatrice’s
brother Clell Jones built the barn for his brother Lige around 1937 to use for
livestock. The Robinsons purchased the barn in 1944 and have used it over the
years to house both tobacco and livestock including a team of white horses used
to work the farm. Tobacco was housed there until the tobacco buyout.
When Joanne (Brenda’s mom) was a little girl, she remembers watching
her dad, Chester, milk cows saving some of the milk to feed stray kittens that
came into the barn. When Brenda was
a little girl, she remembers going into the barn with her Grandpa Chester to see
twin Herford baby calves.